Pinout & PlateCustom Mechanical Keyboard Specifications & Comparisons
Research-Based Guide

Compare Mechanical Keyboard Switches by Type, Pins, and Pack

Compare two mechanical keyboard switch listings by switch type, pin count, pack size, accessories, and compatibility questions.

Pinout & Plate may earn a commission on custom keyboard parts bought through our links at no additional cost to you. How Pinout & Plate earns affiliate commissions

These two listings suit different buying decisions. The primary option is a 30-piece pack with blue, black, red, and brown choices plus a keycap puller. The supporting option focuses on silent linear and tactile choices, with the listing advertising 5-pin hot-swap construction and pre-lubed switches.

Quick choice
  • Choose the 30-piece pack if you want to compare several named color options and value the included keycap puller.
  • Choose the silent linear or tactile listing if those switch categories matter more than having several color choices and you need a stated 5-pin design.
  • Pause before buying either one if your keyboard’s socket layout, required pin count, or exact variant is unknown.

Comparison at a glance

Facts stated in the supplied marketplace listings
Feature 30-piece color-option pack Silent linear/tactile listing
Listed switch choices Blue, black, red, and brown Silent linear and tactile options
Pack size 30 pieces Not stated in the supplied data
Pin count Not stated 5-pin advertised
Hot-swap claim Hot-swappable use stated in the title 5-pin hot-swap stated in the title
Accessory or preparation claim Keycap puller included Pre-lubed advertised

The listings do not provide enough information to establish exact compatibility, force characteristics, sound, durability, or the behavior of each color or switch category. Those are purchase checks, not conclusions from the names alone.

Start with the switch type you actually want

The first listing gives you a color-based menu: blue, black, red, and brown. That is useful when you are choosing among the seller’s named variants or want a 30-piece selection for a small replacement job. However, the supplied information does not define what each color is intended to feel or sound like. Treat the colors as variant labels unless the exact seller page provides a clearer specification.

The second listing is organized around more descriptive categories: silent linear and tactile. That makes it the more direct match when one of those labels is your starting requirement. The title also identifies Silent Peach V3 and Silent Lemon V3 names, but the supplied data does not map each named variant to a particular switch behavior. Confirm the selected variant before paying.

Pins: the clearest compatibility difference

Only the second listing explicitly advertises 5-pin switches. That gives it a more useful starting point for a buyer whose keyboard documentation specifically calls for 5-pin switches, but it is still a seller claim rather than independent verification.

The 30-piece listing says “hot-swappable” and “cross stem,” but it does not state whether the switches use three pins, five pins, or another arrangement. Do not assume that a hot-swap claim answers the pin-count question. Check the exact variant details and compare them with your keyboard’s socket and plate requirements.

Pinout check before purchase

  1. Find your keyboard or PCB documentation and identify the supported switch pin count.
  2. Compare that requirement with the seller’s exact variant, not only the main product title.
  3. Ask the seller whether the 30-piece pack’s selected color uses three pins or five pins, since the supplied listing data does not say.
  4. Confirm whether any plate or socket limitations affect the fit. Neither listing supplies those details.

The 30-piece pack: best for color-led selection

The primary listing, titled “30pcs Mechanical Keyboard Switches… in Blue/Black/Red/Brown,” is the simpler choice for a buyer shopping by named color and pack size. Its stated 30-piece quantity may suit partial replacement or experimentation, while the included keycap puller adds a practical accessory for removing keycaps during a switch change.

Its limitation is specification detail. The listing does not state a pin count in the supplied evidence, and it does not explain the differences between the blue, black, red, and brown variants. Confirm the selected color, the number of switches in that variant, and the pin layout before ordering.

The silent linear and tactile listing: best for a stated 5-pin requirement

The supporting listing takes a different route. It advertises silent linear and tactile options, 5-pin hot-swap construction, and pre-lubed switches. That combination makes it the more targeted option when the category label and five-pin specification are more important than receiving several color choices.

It is less complete as a pack comparison because the supplied data does not state the quantity. The listing title also includes PA66 and POM wording, but the available evidence does not explain which material applies to which component or variant. Confirm the pack size, selected switch type, and exact construction details on the product page.

Pack and accessory trade-offs

If quantity is the priority

The first listing is the only one with a stated quantity: 30 pieces. It also names an included keycap puller. Verify whether the pack contains one chosen color or a mix before ordering.

If pin count is the priority

The second listing is the only one that explicitly advertises 5-pin switches. Confirm that your keyboard can accept that arrangement and that the selected variant is the one shown in the specification.

If the accessory matters

The keycap puller is stated for the 30-piece pack. The second listing instead advertises pre-lubed switches; no separate accessory is stated in the supplied data.

Questions to confirm before buying

  • Does the chosen variant use three pins or five pins?
  • Is the switch compatible with your keyboard’s hot-swap socket and plate?
  • Does the 30-piece listing provide one selected color or a mixed pack?
  • What is the exact quantity of the silent linear or tactile option?
  • Which named variant corresponds to the required switch category?
  • Are the keycap puller and any other pictured items included in the selected variant?
  • Does the stated pre-lubing apply to every switch option in the second listing?

Bottom line

Pick the 30-piece listing when your decision centers on blue, black, red, or brown options and an included keycap puller. Pick the silent linear and tactile listing when you want those stated categories and a seller-advertised 5-pin design. The decisive unknown for the first listing is its pin count; for the second, it is the pack quantity and exact variant mapping. Resolve those two details before treating either option as a confirmed fit.

This comparison is based on supplied marketplace listing claims, not independent testing. Prices are reference prices and may change.

About the Author

JV
Julian Vance

Barebone Kits & PCB Architecture Editor

Julian Vance is an AI-assisted editorial persona analyzing custom mechanical keyboard kits and electronic specifications. This profile synthesizes vendor datasheets and PCB schematics to clarify hardware compatibility for budget builders.

Hot-swap PCB ArchitectureBarebone DIY KitsQMK/VIA Firmware CompatibilityGasket Mount Tolerances
View full profile →